When you delete your account, your profile, photos, videos, comments, likes and followers will be permanently removed. If you'd just like to take a break, you can temporarily deactivate your account instead.
For security reasons, we can't delete an account for you. You’ll need to be able to log into your account to request deletion. If you can't remember your password or username, see some tips for logging in.
Before deleting your account, you may want to log in and download a copy of your information (like your photos and posts) from Instagram. After your account has been deleted, you will not have access to Instagram’s Data Download tool.
1. Click menuMore in the bottom left, then click Settings.
2. Click Accounts Centre, then click Personal details
3. Click Account ownership and control, then click Deactivation or deletion
4. Click the account you'd like to permanently delete.
5. Click Delete account, then click Continue.
Note: You may not be able to delete your account from Accounts Center at this time.
1. Go to the Delete Your Account page. If you're not logged into Instagram on the web, you'll be asked to log in first.
2. Select an option from the dropdown menu below Why do you want to delete [account name]? and re-enter your password. The option to permanently delete your account will only appear after you've selected a reason from the menu and entered your password.
3. Click Delete [username].
1. Click the username in the top-right of the Delete Your Account page.
2. Click next to Edit profile and select Log out.
3. Log back in as the account you want to delete and follow the directions above.
After your account is deleted, you can sign up again with the same username or add that username to another account as long as it hasn't been taken by a new person on Instagram.
Keep in mind that if your account is removed for violating Community Guidelines, you may not be able to sign up again with the same username.
Permanently deleting the Instagram account removes every detail from the app including profile, photos, videos, comments, and losing followers. The process is irreversible which means once the account is removed, you can retrieve it either way.
Interestingly, Meta-owned Instagram doesn’t provide a direct option within the app to delete the account but it has embedded it within the Help Center page. No wonder, why. For this purpose, users need to go down the page and find the option. Well, here’s how to permanently delete your Instagram account.
1. Simply, go to “Delete your account page” on a mobile or PC browser.
2. The page will ask you to log in on the browser if aren’t already logged in.
3. It will ask you to select a reason from the drop-down menu why you want to delete your Instagram account. Also, it will provide some solutions for you if pick any of the concerns. Pick any of the reasons. Re-enter the password to go forward.
4. Click on the button “Delete [username]” to permanently delete the Instagram account.Facebook-owned social media platform takes 30 days to process the Instagram account deletion request offering a period if you change your mind. For this period, your profile won’t be visible to others but you can still access it.
Ans– No, both are completely different things. Deactivating the account means you can resume the access anytime but deleting the account means once 30 days are over, you can’t access the same account instead you have to make a new Instagram account.
Ans– It is not possible to delete or deactivate an Instagram account without providing a valid password. In case, if you have forgotten your password you should first reset it to proceed.
Ans– No, it is not necessary to permanently delete the account. Rather you can change your password and activate two-factor authentication for better security.
You cannot delete your Instagram account via the mobile app. You can only delete your account by logging into Instagram from your desktop or mobile browser.
Deleting Instagram using the iOS or Android App
To do so, go to your profile, tap the hamburger menu in the top right, and select Settings. Then go to Account, and scroll down to the bottom of the menu. There will be a Delete Account button under the Branded Content button
Tap Accounts Center, then tap Personal details. Tap Account ownership and control, then tap Deactivation or deletion. Tap the account you'd like to permanently delete. Tap Delete account, then tap Continue.
Log on to your Instagram app on your iPhone.
Go to your account, then tap the menu in the upper left-hand corner of your profile.
Head to ‘Settings’ > ‘Account.’
Scroll down the list of options, and select ‘Delete account.’
Scroll past the ‘Deactivate account’ button and click ‘Delete account.’
Click ‘Continue deleting account.’
Select a choice on the drop-down menu for ‘Why do you want to delete your account?’
Re-enter your password.
Click the ‘Delete’ button.